The Ghost (Le Revenant)

Like an angel with eyes of a deer
I’ll come to your room and glide near
Not disturbing the shadow shapes Asleep in the folds of the drapes
I’ll caress your hair like the worms
That play around graves in swarms
And give you kiss after kiss
As cold as the moon in the mist
When the sun bleeds in the dawn
In the place I stood I’ll be gone
But that empty space will be cold
Others will try tenderness
To woo your youthfulness
But I will rule you with fear till you’re old

–Translated by Jeffrey Dorchen

[Original poem here.]

Leave a Reply

